Upcoming Events

This event is in the "Virtual" group.

Adult Writing Contest

All Day 6/1 - 7/31
Virtual
Virtual Event
Library Branch: Virtual
Age Group: Adults
Program Type: Books & Reading
Event Details:

Submissions accepted June 1 - July 31

  Winners chosen August 15

This event is in the "Hamilton Library" group.

Kids Take & Make Kits

All Day 7/15 - 7/20
Hamilton Library
Library Branch: Hamilton Library
Age Group: Children
Program Type: Arts & Crafts
Event Details:

Recommended for ages 3 - 7
Get creative and pick up a fun craft kit to do at home. Kits for children will be available for pick up at the Children’s Desk and drive-thru window during the weeks listed. (While supplies last.)

This event is in the "Hamilton Library" group.

Riddle Me This

All Day 7/15 - 7/27
Hamilton Library
Library Branch: Hamilton Library
Age Group: Adults
Event Details:

Stop by during one (or all!) of the listed dates to pick up a riddle describing a local Hamilton place. Solve the riddle for a chance to win one of four themed prizes!

  Riddle 4: July 15 - 27


 

This event is in the "Fairfield Library" group.

Computer Game Fridays

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Fairfield Library
Registration
Library Branch: Fairfield Library
Room: Fairfield Computer Lab
Age Group: Children
Program Type: Entertainment & Games
Registration Required
Event Details:

Ages 7 - 11

  Enjoy a gaming afternoon filled with some of your favorites including Roblox, Minecraft and more!
 

This event is in the "Fairfield Library" group.

Cooking with Kids

2:00pm - 3:30pm
Fairfield Library
Registration
Library Branch: Fairfield Library
Room: Fairfield Meeting Room
Age Group: Children
Program Type: Educational, Health & Wellness
Registration Required
Event Details:

Ages 6 - 12
OSU Extension Educators will lead this hands-on program teaching kids the basics of food safety and preparation.

This event is in the "Fairfield Library" group.

*Story Time en Español

11:00am - 12:00pm
Fairfield Library
Library Branch: Fairfield Library
Room: Fairfield Meeting Room
Age Group: Children
Program Type: Story Time

Ages 6 - under 

Our bilingual family story time is presented in Español and English. Explore Hispanic culture through stories, songs, rhymes and crafts. 

La Hora del Cuento Familiar en Español. Acompáñenos a explorar la cultura hispana a través de cuentos, canciones, rimas y manualidades. Contenido del programa diseñado para edades 6 y más jóvenes.

Disclaimer(s)

* Participants must be accompanied by a parent or caregiver.

New, Coming Soon & Bestsellers

Image for "The Housemaid Is Watching"

The Housemaid Is Watching

A twisting, pulse-pounding thriller from Freida McFadden, the New York Times bestselling author of The Housemaid and The Coworker

"You must be our new neighbors!" Mrs. Lowell gushes and waves across the picket fence. I clutch my daughter's hand and smile back: but the second Mrs. Lowell sees my husband a strange expression crosses her face. In that moment I make a promise. We finally have a family home. My past is far, far behind us. And I'll do anything to keep it that way...

I used to clean other people's houses--now, I can't believe this home is actually mine. The charming kitchen, the quiet cul-de-sac, the huge yard where my kids can play. My husband and I saved for years to give our children the life they deserve.

Even though I'm wary of our new neighbor Mrs. Lowell, when she invites us over for dinner it's our chance to make friends. Her maid opens the door wearing a white apron, her hair in a tight bun. I know exactly what it's like to be in her shoes. But her cold stare gives me chills...

The Lowells' maid isn't the only strange thing on our street. I'm sure I see a shadowy figure watching us. My husband leaves the house late at night. And when I meet a woman who lives across the way, her words chill me to the bone: Be careful of your neighbors.

Did I make a terrible mistake moving my family here?

I thought I'd left my darkest secrets behind. But could this quiet suburban street be the most dangerous place of all?

From New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author Freida McFadden comes the next instalment of the unbelievably twisty, tension-packed and globally bestselling Housemaid series. This book can be enjoyed as a standalone read: and once you start, it will have you up all night racing through the pages until the final explosive twist.

Image for "The First State of Being"

The First State of Being

When twelve-year-old Michael Rosario meets a mysterious boy from the future, his life is changed forever. From bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly, winner of the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe and a Newbery Honor for We Dream of Space, this novel explores themes of family, friendship, trust, and forgiveness. The First State of Being is for fans of Rebecca Stead's When You Reach Me.

It's August 1999. For twelve-year-old Michael Rosario, life at Fox Run Apartments in Red Knot, Delaware, is as ordinary as ever--except for the looming Y2K crisis and his overwhelming crush on his fifteen-year-old babysitter, Gibby. But when a disoriented teenage boy named Ridge appears out of nowhere, Michael discovers there is more to life than stockpiling supplies and pining over Gibby.

It turns out that Ridge is carefree, confident, and bold, things Michael wishes he could be. Unlike Michael, however, Ridge isn't where he belongs. When Ridge reveals that he's the world's first time traveler, Michael and Gibby are stunned but curious. As Ridge immerses himself in 1999--fascinated by microwaves, basketballs, and malls--Michael discovers that his new friend has a book that outlines the events of the next twenty years, and his curiosity morphs into something else: focused determination. Michael wants--no, needs--to get his hands on that book. How else can he prepare for the future? But how far is he willing to go to get it?

A story of time travel, friendship, found family, and first loves, this thematically rich novel is distinguished by its voice, character development, setting, and exploration of the issues that resonate with middle grade readers.

 

Image for "Mani Semilla Finds Her Quetzal Voice"

Mani Semilla Finds Her Quetzal Voice

For fans of Donna Barba Higuera's Lupe Wong Won't Dance and Aida Salazar's The Moon Within, comes Mani Semilla Finds Her Quetzal Voice - a contemporary middle grade novel full of spunk and activist heart.



Life sucks when you're twelve. You're not a little kid, but you're also not an adult, and all the grown-ups in your life talk about your body the minute it starts getting a shape. And what sucks even more than being a Chinese-Filipino-American-Guatemalan who can't speak any ancestral language well? When almost every other girl in school has already gotten her period except for you and your two besties.



Manuela "Mani" Semilla wants two things: To get her period, and to thwart her mom's plan of taking her to Guatemala on her thirteenth birthday. If her mom's always going on about how dangerous it is in Guatemala, and how much she sacrificed to come to this country, then why should Mani even want to visit?



But one day, up in the attic, she finds secret letters between her mom and her Tía Beatriz, who, according to family lore, died in a bus crash before Mani was born. But the letters reveal a different story. Why did her family really leave Guatemala? What will Mani learn about herself along the way? And how can the letters help her to stand up against the culture of harassment at her own school?



P R A I S E



"Anna Lapera expertly voices a young girl's middle school trials, but with a voice so unique and heartfelt you will be cringing one moment and cheering the next. She weaves a distinctive story filled with humor, family heartache, and secrets while a young girl releases the fear of her voice and grasps its power."

--Newbery Medalist Donna Barba Higuera